With the new year and new decade now here, many of us (maybe even most) are “resolving” to do some new things, as well as some existing things better (well, hopefully better).  I am one of those that sees a new year and especially a new decade as an opportunity for improvement.  A few of the goals I have for myself are:

  • Run in the Cooper River Bridge Run in March and in a half marathon (probably the Governor’s Cup on Nov 13th), and in the process get back down to 170 lbs (I ate way too much over the holidays this past year).
  • Read through the Bible in one year. Lori mentioned this in her blog here. I am following her lead by reading Eugene Peterson’s The Message Remix/Pause.  And yes, I know it is a paraphrase.
  • Write the novel I conceived years ago, even if the only readers are my wife and children.

These are the ones that are measurable.  At the end of 2010, I can evaluate how I did on each of these.

There are several other areas in my life that I would also like to improve that can’t be measured quantitatively.  The most important of these, not counting my relationship with God, is my relationship with my wife.

Bottom line: a strong relationship with my wife makes me a better father, better provider, better friend, etc.  If you don’t believe that, pick up any Christian or secular book on marriage and relationships.

Better yet, and this is where the “challenge” comes in, pick up just one book: The Love Dare.  You can get it brand new for under $10, and it will be the best ten bucks you’ve spent in a long time, maybe ever.  I’m currently going through it a second time (read day 3 today…if you follow me on Twitter, I post the one thought that grabs me most each day) .  I should finish up just in time for Valentine’s Day.  It’s a 40 day journey to a better marriage, and it only takes 5-10 minutes to read each day’s message.  Then comes the “Dare” for the day.  That’s where you get to apply what you learned.  Your wife will be amazed, maybe not immediately, but by the end of the 40 days, there will be no doubt in her mind that something is different about you.  Let God take it from there.

So, go to the bookstore today, or click on the link above to order it from Amazon.  Then, take this challenge and take it seriously.  You will be amazed at the results, not only in your marriage, but in every part of your life.

P.S. If you see no change after spending 40 days going through this book, email me your story and I will refund the $10 you spent on the book.  Deal?  Now get going.  No excuses!