We make decisions of all kinds every single day. Simple decisions like:

  • What time should I wake up tomorrow?
  • What do I “need” to do today?
  • What do I “want” to do today?
  • What should I eat?

Some of the more complex decisions are:

  • Where should I go to college?
  • What do I want to be when I grow up?
  • Should I marry him/her?
  • Should I take this job or that job?

From time to time we must make decisions we wish we didn’t have to make. These are the “tough” decisions between that which is good and that which is best. “Best” could also be defined as “that which is most wise”. Andy Stanley gives excellent guidance on making tough decisions in his book titled The Best Question Ever: “In light of your past experience, current circumstances, and future hopes and dreams, what is the wise thing for you to do? [And] what do the wise people around you consider the wisest course of action for you to take?”

Unfortunately, there are times when these decisions will have a negative impact on people you really care about. I recently had to make a tough decision like this, and it sucks. Sometimes discerning God’s will for your life can be….tough.