Anybody out there secretly have a dream to do something else with your life? Maybe it’s not a secret; maybe you’ve told someone–a spouse, or a close friend. I’ve told my wife and a few others, but mostly I don’t talk about it much because I haven’t done much with this dream…

I love to read. I would love to say that has always been true, but I really didn’t begin to love to read until I was stuck in a submarine for three months at a time. And the more I read the more fascinated I became with the craft of writing. I would think, how does the author come up with these amazing plots and characters and scenes?

Authors like J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Ken Follett, Clive Cussler, Nelson DeMille, and so many others. I found myself feeling virtually every emotion you can think of while reading words on a page–laughing out loud, feeling so much anger at whatever injustice I was reading about I wanted to reach into the book and strangle the villain myself, even crying when the scene was incomprehensibly sad.

One day I finally said to myself: “I want to write a book.” 

So, I have been trying to write a novel for about 14 years now. My poor wife has seen me go through seasons where I’ll read about writing, do internet research in preparation for writing, read blogs on writing–pretty much everything EXCEPT writing. Oh, I’ve written the Prologue, and bits and pieces of chapters. I’ve outlined scenes and characters, even picked some of their names. I even named the villain after my least favorite Commanding Officer when I was in the Navy.

But the fear of sucking kept getting in the way.

A few days ago I purchased Jeff Goins’ ebook You Are a Writer (So Start Acting Like One) and quickly became inspired to actually BECOME a writer. Today I signed up for a 15 day online writing course as a way of formally deciding that if I am going to be a writer, I have to decide I AM one. Jeff Goins has graciously offered to anyone interested a free course titled 15 Habits of Great Writers.

Tomorrow morning the first lesson/assignment will show up in my email inbox. I plan to get up earlier than I already do and commit to doing what is necessary to become a better writer.

This blog post is to make it public. That means if you took the time to read this, you have permission to ask me at any time: “How’s that novel coming Scott?” And I promise to answer you truthfully, and thank you for asking.

What’s your dream? Is it time to make it a reality?