If you’ve read either of my previous posts titled Body Change, you are aware of my renewed interest in all things health and fitness. Recently, I’ve had the privilege of starting, for lack of a better title, a couple of social fitness challenges.

The first happened by accident. Due to my wife’s school schedule, my normal Friday morning workout at the gym would need to be changed to Saturday morning. And that first Saturday, my workout partner couldn’t make it for some reason, so I decided to drive up to the local high school track and try out this new sprint workout that I had read about. When I got to the track, the weather was so incredible, I decided to try some bodyweight exercises using this cool timer app I found for my iPhone as a warm-up before doing the sprints. I did two circuits of 5 different exercises for one minute each with a one minute rest. I jogged a lap around the track between the circuits.  That’s a whopping 10 minutes of effort as intense as I wanted it to be, no reps counted. It was awesome! I then did the sprint workout which I described in the Body Change part 2 blog. What an awesome workout! And I was done in less than 40 minutes!

When I met Jimmy at the gym the following Monday, I told him about it. He thought it sounded interesting enough to try, so we met that next Saturday at the track and started doing it together. We told another friend about it a few weeks later, and he has been working out with us for the last 6weeks or so. My friend Josh joined us this past Saturday, and is planning to bring his dad next week!

Do we get a great workout? Absolutely! But do I look forward to it all week because of the workout? Absolutely NOT! I look forward to it every week because I get to have fun with friends who have the same goal as I do–to be fitter than they were yesterday!

Troy about to get fitter than he was yesterday!

The second thing that happened recently is what is now known as the 60/15/2 Challenge.

Once again I was reading a blog post where a guy challenged himself to do 50 push-ups and 12 pull-ups everyday for a month to help build strength in his upper body. I thought that sounded like a great idea for me, and figured I would share it with my workout partners and my fitness-minded friends on Facebook. It actually started out as the 50/12 Challenge, but we moved to 60/15 after a week, and plan to eventually work our way up to 100/25. The “2” on the end was added this week and denotes two minutes of core work, just in case you were wondering.

Here’s how it works: you have all day to do the 60 push-ups, 15 pull-ups, and 2 minutes of core. You can do it in as many or as few sets as you want. It’s all up to you how hard you want to push yourself. When you’re done, post it to Facebook or Twitter if you want so we can all cheer you on!

As of today there are at least 7 men and 3 women in on the 60/15/2 challenge! How cool is that?!? I get so excited every time I see someone post their completed reps on Facebook! And if I haven’t done mine yet, it serves two purposes: to remind me, and most importantly, to MOTIVATE ME!

And don’t we all need motivating from time to time!

I hope this post has served to motivate you to get off the couch and do something to make YOU fitter than you were yesterday!

And if it does, PLEASE let me know, either through a comment below, or Facebook, or email.